Writing about abortion

13538524

This morning I saw a post, where a male blogger expressed his opinion on the wrongness of abortion. Now he never went into detail or went into his opinions on the matter as it extends to victims or rape or molestation or even in medical cases when the mother’s life hung in the balance.

And indeed as a woman, and as a mother, I can honestly say, I think that in some circumstances I can understand how and why someone would make that choice. I don’t think I would give up my life and the ability to raise my already living children for another, I don’t think that anyone should be forced to undergo the psychological tauma of carrying the baby of a family member who stole your innocence, or an animal that in passing saw you as prey, though if they can handle it and make of this bad situation a blessing to someone else then they are even more a hero.

But that’s not why I sat down to write this. it’s the responses. from men and women who were quite alright with extinguishing life, because it came at the wrong time, or because it is a result of some casual relationship, because it is a woman’s right to not have to live with the consequences of deliberate decisions…and I’m like “Really people?”

When we as men and women lay down to do the deed, don’t we understand the possible outcomes? Don’t we automatically take responsibility for any and all eventualities? Why is it OK for us to look at our children as inconveniences that we can just throw away? Why is “I slept with someone temporary” a legitimate excuse to end a life?

And have any of these people, read up on the possible medical and psychological effects of abortion?

Or is it me? Are the people of the first world and us on it’s fringes really so flippant? It’s something to ponder, isn’t it?

5 thoughts on “Writing about abortion

  1. Well said and I personally love that NO ONE thinks people have routine abortions even though it has been proven countless times and REAL comments show that people support it. And yet every abortion post will have multiple comments about “rape, incest, and possible death” as the sole purpose of abortion. Sigh…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think people just don’t want to face up to the uncomfortable truths, they don’t want to admit that the behaviors we embrace. like promiscuity come with real consequences, because if they do then they have to admit that they are full of it.

      Like

Any thoughts?

