In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Take That, Rosetta!.”

What would you do if you could wake up in the morning and speak any language and which one would you choose?

When I first saw this, my first thought was, you mean I could learn to speak Japanese and be able to watch all my favorite anime. Without the subtitles!! That’s right nothing would get lost in the translation, I wouldn’t miss anything because I had to split my attention between the subtitles and the actual action. I would be in a strange new world of awesome.

But then I thought, what then? You would have overcome one of your biggest self-gripes to become a couch potato?

No, No I wouldn’t. Well not after I relived my awesome teenagerhood without subtitles. I’d probably take the hubby on a trip to Japan. As you may have guessed he’s a Fanboy. So we would fangasm all over the culture and the people, the everything.

But let’s take it even further, what would I do if I could switch languages when I went to sleep. OMG. The adventures I would have, strolling the great graveyards and catacombs of Paris. Don’t judge I’m all about Anne Rice. Wondering the French country side.

Eating my way across Italy, Oktoberfest, Audiences with Native American and African Medicine men, experiencing China and India in all their glory. And Tibet…And Ty land….And The frozen North. The possibilities are endless.

But then again, what if I wake up in Antigua, where we generally only speak English, French, Spanish, and Caribbean Creoles, and all I can speak is Japanese? Can you imagine the fiasco? Dude!!!!!!

Any thoughts?

