In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Turn, Turn, Turn.”

download (7)

Now as a Caribbean girl, let me warn you that I only know two seasons. Yes indeed in the tropics we have two. The Wet or Rainy season and the Dry or…well…not rainy season. To tell you the gospel truth, I’m not sure I’ve figured out which is which.

One coincides with the hurricane season, which runs from June to November. I think that might be the wet one, but that is generally the one where you hear words like drought and feel things like debilitating humidity and the need to bathe constantly, or build a shanty at the beach, because you are basically marinading in sweat. But even through all that it’s the time of carnival and fetes, of no school and fresh ripe juicy Mangoes.

The other , which I think is the dry one, runs the rest of the year, and is ironically when we seem to be getting the most rain. It’s also way cooler, to the point where there is mist in the low lying areas in the morning. That kind of twenty toe weather, as we call it here, is synonymous with Christmas and Christmas ham, and New Years, and Independence time.

To tell the truth I’m not even sure when one gives way to the other, well except when the radio starts giving periodic helpful hints for hurricane preparedness.

Alas I love them both. I can’t choose. How do you choose between fresh sweet mango juice running down your chin,  pungent mango wine fermenting in the kitchen, all while your kids run and play and laugh around you. And the sight of women dressed in full madrasa selling sugar cake and jam of the independence fair, the smell of fresh wood oven bread slathered in butter and filled with honey roasted goodness, all while your kids run and play and laugh around you.

Huh…I guess that’s it. I can’t choose one, because they both have plenty of opportunities for me and the tribe to bond and play and make happy moments. I guess my favorite season is any one where me and my family are together and happy.

4 thoughts on “What’s my season?

  1. Don’t think I could handle that weather. The humidity is a killer for me. I just can’t breathe when it’s high. I was raised in Ohio which can be 100% humidity and 99°, and it pert near does me in to go home and visit in the summer. I love Utah’s dry heat.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “The other , which I think is the dry one, runs the rest of the year, and is ironically when we seem to be getting the most rain.” Our weather is as mixed as this as well… and we have all four?

    Liked by 1 person

Any thoughts?

