Why not both?

This post is in response to The Daily Post’s Daily Prompt. Live to eat

Which reads – ‘Some people eat to live, while others live to eat. What about you? How far would you travel for the best meal of your life?’

I know it’s bad form to answer a question with a question but my answer is…”Why not both?”

Why can’t I eat to live, ’cause let’s face it we all kinda have to, and also live for the flavors and textures that I can savor? Besides who want’s to eat food that doesn’t excite their taste buds, their olfactory nerve, their eyes? I can’t even fathom that, it’s just so alien.

But me I love to eat, I love food that is tasty and rich and luxurious to me. I like cooking it, eating it, I just hate doing dishes. But I also acknowledge that the things that enter me via my pie hole, are part of what makes the machinery of me run. So, just like I wouldn’t run my car on gas with lead and other heavy metals in, to preserve my engine, I also try to put things in there that will ultimately keep things running well, and won’t muck up the works. The occasional chocolate and alcohol with the girls not withstanding, as a matter of fact I think we should apply to be re-embursed by the medical benefit scheme, as those times are generally strictly for therapy in the relief of stress, and you know that one is a killer.

How far would I travel for my best meal? I don’t know, it’s more than taste that makes a meal, I’ve had hot dogs that taste better than some 5 star steaks I’ve had. Why? Because of the mood, the company, the atmosphere, all kinds of stuff. I think I would travel but it’s less a question of how far and more of with whom, for what occasion, and for what experience.

I’m gonna go see what other people said. Later folks. 😀

 

4 thoughts on “Why not both?

Any thoughts?

